Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filter by category
Choose a category
Filter by date
Only show
My favorites
Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filters
i
{"title":"Choral | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/choral\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-62455 apm lang-en apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/choral\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":62455,"slug":"choral","title":"Choral","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/choral\/","year":"2006","loc":{"lat":"45.49797318776414","long":"-73.55655470304112"},"artist_names":"<span>Maria<\/span> <strong>Jos\u00e9 Sheriff <\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2017\/03\/Maria_Sheriff_Chorale-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Choral
2006
Maria José Sheriff

Born in La Paz, Bolivia, Maria José Sheriff currently lives in Montreal. From a young age she was interested in poetry and art and had a passion for the pure sciences. She holds a Bachelor in Fine Arts from Concordia University (1992) and a Master in Visual and Media Arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) (2000). Among her solo exibitions, of mention are Synchrone at Clark Gallery in Montreal, 1998; Dissonances at the Écart Gallery in Rouyn-Noranda, 1999; Recent Scultures and Drawings at B-312 Gallery in Montreal, 1999; Aphélie et Périgée at Circa Gallery in Montreal, 2000; as well as Mémoire Minérale at the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto, 2003-2004.

Read more
Details
Category
Sculpture
Acquisition mode
Politique d'intégration des arts à l'architecture et à l'environnement, Government of Quebec
Materials
aluminum
Location
Location
Location
Darling Foundry, Visual Arts Center
Localization
Darling Foundry's rooftop
Adress
745, rue Ottawa, Montréal, QC H3C 1R8

Artwork description

Occasioned by the Darling Foundry’s renovation of the artist studios building, Quartier Éphémère invited Maria Sheriff to create a permanent work, framed within Quebec’s Ministry of Culture and Communications program to integrate works of art into architecture. Taking into account the geographical location of the Darling Foundry, a sculpture on the building’s roof seemed the ideal place to carry out this ambitious project. Close to the Bonaventure expressway and meters away from the financial district, Choral plays the role of a landmark, a guidepost demarcating the Darling Foundry in its environment and summoning the passerby. As a metal sculpture, Choral firstly reminds of the Darling Foundry’s former operations, which worked with this material. Its various surfaces, jagged, metallic sheets in red and gold, rounded forms that are cuttings from aluminum sheets, intercept and reflect the light; this “vehicle for the immaterial” is favoured by the artist. According to Maria Sheriff who “compares her creative process to a voyage on the open sea,” Choral is a “prayer song,” which appeals to the spiritual. “I would like it to invite us to lift our gaze beyond our rational path” she tells us. A steel and aluminum wind rose, Choral broaches its erosion, like a playful and luminous bow, fronting a new boat of contemporary art.

Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtrer par catégorie
Choisir une catégorie
Filtrer par date
Montrer seulement
Mes favoris
Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtres
i
{"title":"Choral | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/choral\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-62453 apm lang-fr apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/choral\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":62453,"slug":"choral","title":"Choral","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/choral\/","year":"2006","loc":{"lat":"45.497967547605384","long":"-73.55653592757801"},"artist_names":"<span>Maria<\/span> <strong>Jos\u00e9 Sheriff<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2017\/03\/Maria_Sheriff_Chorale-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Choral
2006
Maria José Sheriff

Née à La Paz, Bolivie, Maria José Sheriff vit à Montréal. Sa vision sculpturale se déploie par l’installation, l’objet, l’œuvre graphique et vidéographique. Ses œuvres ont notamment été vues lors des événements Neige sur Neige au Québec (1999), Placards, à Joliette (2000), Arts 2000, Stradford, Galerie Lilian Rodriguez, à Montréal; ainsi que lors d’expositions individuelles Synchrone, à la Galerie Clark (1998), Dissonances à L’Écart, Rouyn-Noranda (1999), à la Galerie B-312 (1999) et Aphélie et Périgée à Circa à Montréal (2000). Elle co-réalise un court métrage d’essai : 1200 pieds carrés de ciel et explore maintenant la sculpture lumineuse.

Lire la suite
Détails
Catégorie
Sculpture
Propriétaire
Fonderie Darling
Mode d'acquisition
Politique d'intégration des arts à l'architecture et à l'environnement du Gouvernement du Québec
Matériaux
aluminium
Emplacement
Emplacement
Arrondissement ou ville liée
Ville-Marie
Emplacement
Fonderie Darling, Centre d'arts visuels
Localisation
Sur le toit
Adresse
745, rue Ottawa, Montréal, QC H3C 1R8

Description de l'oeuvre

À l’occasion du projet de réhabilitation du bâtiment des ateliers d’artistes de la Fonderie Darling, Quartier Éphémère a invité Maria José Sheriff à réaliser une œuvre permanente dans le cadre du programme de l’art intégré à l’architecture du ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec. Compte tenu de la situation géographique de la Fonderie Darling, une sculpture sur le toit de l’immeuble semblait l’endroit idéal pour réaliser ce projet ambitieux. Aux abords de l’autoroute Bonaventure et aux pieds du quartier des affaires, Choral joue le rôle d’un repère, un élément signalétique qui identifie la Fonderie Darling dans son environnement et interpelle les passants. Sculpture de métal, Choral fait tout d’abord référence à l’ancienne activité de la Fonderie Darling durant laquelle ce matériau était travaillé. Ses diverses facettes, plaques métalliques épineuses de rouge et d’or, résidus ou épargne de formes arrondies découpées sur des plaques d’aluminium, interceptent et reflètent la lumière, ce «véhicule d’immatérialité» privilégié de l’artiste. Selon Maria José Sheriff, qui compare son processus créatif à un «voyage en plein océan», Choral est un «chant de prières», qui appelle à la spiritualité. «J’aimerais qu’il nous invite à lever notre regard en dehors de notre chemin mental» dit-elle. Rose des vents d’acier et d’aluminium, Choral entame son érosion, telle une figure de proue joyeuse et lumineuse, au devant d’une nouvelle embarcation de l’art contemporain.