Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filter by category
Choose a category
Filter by date
Only show
My favorites
Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filters
i
{"title":"Oceania | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/oceania\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-63451 apm lang-en apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/oceania\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":63451,"slug":"oceania","title":"Oceania","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/oceania\/","year":"2015","loc":{"lat":"45.50891588438216","long":"-73.55135884907378"},"artist_names":"<span>Patrick<\/span> <strong>Bernatchez<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2017\/06\/satellite_marche_bonsecours_oct-2015-3904_CROP-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Oceania
2015
Patrick Bernatchez

Patrick Bernatchez’s artistic practice is built around production cycles whose works are always in close dialogue. His multidisciplinary practice includes drawing, printmaking, painting, photography, film, installation and sound. In September 2014, his work was the subject of a major exhibition at the Casino Luxembourg, mounted in collaboration with the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, which presented the exhibition afterwards. His work has also been exhibited in The Netherlands, France, the United States and Canada. Patrick Bernatchez lives and works in Montreal.

Read more
Artworks
from the same artist
Details
Category
Photography
Owner
Dazibao
Acquisition mode
Competition by invitation
Overall size
317 x 467 cm
Technique(s)
digital print
Support
canvas
Mediums
photograph
Artworks
from the same artist
Location
Location
Location
Marché Bonsecours
Adress
333, rue de la Commune Est Montréal, QC H2Y 1J3
Tours
Tour
Tour
Montréal by night
  • 9 Artworks
  • 47min
  • After Babel, a Civic Square
  • Cité Mémoire

Start

Artwork description

To mark Dazibao’s thirty-fifth anniversary, two new satellite works are being installed in Montreal! On the façades of Café Cherrier and Bonsecours Market, which have previously been the site of works by Jennifer Campbell, Manon de Pauw, Thomas Kneubühler and David Tomas, you will have the pleasure of discovering two works by Patrick Bernatchez. Inspired by the dystopian novel 1984, Bernatchez’s new project addresses questions around individual freedoms, collective memory, language and power.

George Orwell’s famous novel 1984 was published in 1949, thirty-five years before the year 1984. Thirty-five years is also what separates us now from the year 1980 – when Dazibao was founded – and the year 2050, date of the final victory of Orwell’s totalitarian regime over a civilisation deprived of the means to conceive its own freedom. These temporal pirouettes, from fiction to reality, were the starting point for Patrick Bernatchez’s project, taking his inspiration from distances of thirty-five years from the present, forwards into the future and backwards into the past.

In reference to Newspeak, the language dreamt up by Orwell whose bare-bones quality was intended to prevent all critical reflection, Bernatchez has chosen a brief, four-letter sample: “tu es” (“thou art”). In the novel, this succinct command refers to the complete control that the regime exercises over the lives of its citizens. Out of context, hanging over the passer-by from the façade of Bonsecours Market, the assertion “thou art” inevitably takes on a social and political character.

On the façade of Café Cherrier, Bernatchez has created an image showing his own enlarged iris, photographed with an ophthalmological device. This coloured, predominating iris is a direct allusion to 1984 and to the daily surveillance to which we are all subjected as we go about our affairs, in both physical and virtual spaces.

Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtrer par catégorie
Choisir une catégorie
Filtrer par date
Montrer seulement
Mes favoris
Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtres
i
{"title":"Oceania | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/oceania\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-63448 apm lang-fr apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/oceania\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":63448,"slug":"oceania","title":"Oceania","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/oceania\/","year":"2015","loc":{"lat":"45.50891870391325","long":"-73.5513454380287"},"artist_names":"<span>Patrick<\/span> <strong>Bernatchez<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2017\/06\/satellite_marche_bonsecours_oct-2015-3904_CROP-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Oceania
2015
Patrick Bernatchez

La pratique artistique de Patrick Bernatchez se construit par cycles de production au sein desquels les œuvres sont toujours en étroit dialogue. Sa pratique multidisciplinaire se partage entre le dessin, la gravure, la peinture, la photographie, le film, l’installation et le son. En septembre 2014, son travail faisait l’objet d’une importante exposition au Casino Luxembourg réalisée en collaboration avec le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, qui a ensuite présenté l’exposition. Son travail a également été exposé aux Pays-Bas, en France, aux États-Unis et au Canada. Patrick Bernatchez vit et travaille à Montréal.

Lire la suite
Oeuvres
du même artiste
Détails
Catégorie
Photographie
Propriétaire
Dazibao
Mode d'acquisition
Concours sur invitation
Dimensions générales
317 x 467 cm
Technique(s)
impression numérique
Support
toile
Médiums
photographie
Oeuvres
du même artiste
Emplacement
Emplacement
Arrondissement ou ville liée
Ville-Marie
Emplacement
Marché Bonsecours
Adresse
333, rue de la Commune Est Montréal, QC H2Y 1J3
Parcours
Parcours
Parcours
Montréal nocturne
  • 9 Oeuvres
  • 47min
  • After Babel, a Civic Square
  • Cité Mémoire

Commencer

Description de l'oeuvre

Pour souligner les 35 ans de Dazibao, deux nouvelles œuvres satellites s’installent en ville! Ainsi, sur les façades du Café Cherrier et du Marché Bonsecours, qui ont déjà accueilli des œuvres de Jennifer Campbell, Manon De Pauw, Thomas Kneubühler et David Tomas, vous aurez le plaisir de découvrir deux œuvres de Patrick Bernatchez. Inspiré du roman contre-utopique 1984, ce nouveau projet de l’artiste aborde les notions de libertés individuelles, de mémoire collective, de langage et de pouvoir.

C’est en 1949 qu’a été publié le plus célèbre roman de George Orwell : 1984. Trente-cinq ans séparent la sortie du roman de l’an 1984. Trente-cinq ans, c’est également le nombre d’années qui nous séparent maintenant de l’an 1980 — année de fondation de Dazibao — et de l’an 2050, date de l’ultime victoire du régime totalitaire imaginé par Orwell sur une civilisation privée des moyens de penser sa liberté. Ces pirouettes temporelles, entre fiction et réalité, servent de point de départ au projet de Patrick Bernatchez : c’est au bout d’une échelle de 35 ans, dirigée vers le passé ou le futur, qu’il a puisé l’inspiration pour ce projet.

En référence à la novlangue, langue imaginée par Orwell et dont le dépouillement a pour objectif d’empêcher toute réflexion critique, Patrick Bernatchez a choisi un bref extrait de quatre lettres : « Tu es ». Dans le roman, ce commandement succinct réfère au contrôle total qu’exerce le régime sur la vie de ses citoyens. Hors-contexte, surplombant le passant depuis la façade du Marché Bonsecours, l’affirmation « Tu es » revêt inévitablement un caractère social et politique.

Sur la façade du Café Cherrier, l’artiste propose une image représentant un agrandissement de son propre iris, photographié à l’aide d’un appareil ophtalmologique. Cet iris coloré et dominant fait directement allusion au roman 1984 ainsi qu’à la surveillance quotidienne dont nous faisons l’objet lors de nos déplacements, aussi bien dans les espaces physiques que virtuels.