Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filter by category
Choose a category
Filter by date
Only show
My favorites
Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filters
i
{"title":"Walter Yarwood | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/artiste\/yarwood-walter\/","body_class":"apm_artist-template-default single single-apm_artist postid-54650 apm lang-en apm-full-js nav-env-classic single-entry-archive","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/artiste\/yarwood-walter\/","clear_filter_collection":"clear","clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artist"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","mapMarkers":[54653]}

Walter Yarwood

1917 - 1996

Walter Yarwood worked for a publicity firm while painting for leisure after completing his studies at the Western Technical High School in Toronto. In the 1940s, he was invited to join the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts (RCA). In 1950, he studied in the San Miquel Allende school of fine arts in Mexico City for two years.
A new artistic vocabulary emerged in the 1940s with the birth of Abstract expressionism in New York and Automatism in Montreal, whereas the Group of Seven dominated the art scene in Toronto. Water Yarwood participated alongside other artists in the creation of the Painters Eleven in 1953 – united all with a common interest for abstract art.
Throughout the 1960s, the artist progressively abandonned painting and turned to sculpture. He then fulfilles many public art orders, mainly in Toronto. Yarwood first worked with recuperated metals and objects he stumbled upon. He then worked with pure metal such as aluminum, allowing him to work on surfaces and create effects with acid.
At cusp of the 1970s, he stopped taking public orders and taught drawing, photography and sculpture at the Humber College in Toronto. He moved to Port Rowan, a small town near Lake Erie in 1979. Freed from his obligations and any form of pressure, he started painting again, with watercolors. He painted for 25 years without any hiatuses. Oil and distemper paintings in the Summer; watercolor paintings in the Winter.
His sculpture are on display in public areas at the University of Toronto, at York University, at the Sidney Smith Hall in Toronto, the Winnipeg International Airport, in federal and Ontarian government buildings. The artist’s pieces are displayed in many important collections in the National Gallery of Canada, The Art Gallery in Toronto and The Roberth McLaughin Gallery.

Walter Yarwood

Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtrer par catégorie
Choisir une catégorie
Filtrer par date
Montrer seulement
Mes favoris
Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtres
i
{"title":"Walter Yarwood | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/artiste\/yarwood-walter\/","body_class":"apm_artist-template-default single single-apm_artist postid-54648 apm lang-fr apm-full-js nav-env-classic single-entry-archive","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/artiste\/yarwood-walter\/","clear_filter_collection":"clear","clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artist"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","mapMarkers":[54655]}

Walter Yarwood

1917 - 1996

Walter Yarwood, après des études à la Western Technical High School de Toronto, travaille pour une firme publicitaire tout en peignant pour son plaisir. Dans les années 1940, il est invité à se joindre à l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (ARAC). En 1950, il étudie dans une école des beaux-arts, San Miquel Allende, à Mexico pendant deux ans.
Dans les années 40, un nouveau vocabulaire artistique émerge avec l’Expressionnisme abstrait à New York et les Automatistes à Montréal alors qu’à Toronto, le Groupe des Sept domine. En 1953, Walter Yarwood participe, avec d’autres artistes, à la création du Groupe des Onze (Painters Eleven) réunis autour de leur intérêt commun pour l’art abstrait.
Au cours des années 1960, l’artiste délaisse progressivement la peinture pour la sculpture. Il réalise plusieurs commandes d’art public, principalement à Toronto. Yarwood travaille tout d’abord avec du métal de récupération et des objets trouvés. Puis, il utilise du métal neuf, comme l’aluminium, qui permet de travailler les surfaces et d’obtenir des effets en utilisant de l’acide.
À la fin des années 1970, il délaisse la commande publique et enseigne le dessin, la photographie et la sculpture au Humber College à Toronto. En 1979, il s’établit à Port Rowan, une petite ville près du lac Érié. Là, libéré des contraintes et de la pression, il retourne à la peinture, à l’aquarelle. Pendant 25 ans, sans relâche, il peint à l’huile, à la détrempe, l’été, tandis que l’hiver est consacré à l’aquarelle.
Ses sculptures se retrouvent dans des lieux publics à l’Université de Toronto, à l’Université York, au Sidney Smith Hall à Toronto, à l’Aéroport international de Winnipeg et dans des édifices gouvernementaux fédéraux et ontariens. Les œuvres de cet artiste figurent dans de nombreuses collections importantes comme le Musée national des beaux-arts du Canada, The Art Gallery à Toronto, The Robert McLaughlin Gallery.

Walter Yarwood