Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filter by category
Choose a category
Filter by date
Only show
My favorites
Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filters
i
{"title":"Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy\u2026 | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-67993 apm lang-en apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":67993,"slug":"abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy","title":"Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy\u2026","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy\/","year":"1994.2018","loc":{"lat":null,"long":null},"artist_names":"<span>Richard<\/span> <strong>Purdy<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2019\/12\/Purdy2-cour-interieure_72-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy…
1994.2018
Richard Purdy

Richard Purdy studied at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design in Halifax, then pursued a Master’s in Arts at the Villa Schifanoia Badia Fiesolana in Florence and a Doctorate’s in the studies and practices of art at UQAM in 2000. He also teaches visual art and art history in the UQTR’s Département des arts while directing research projects. He has published more than twenty papers.
In 1991, Richard Purdy founded Les Industries Perdues. The collective created 19 public art projects, including pieces for the United Nations, Quebec City, the STCUM, Cirque du Soleil, Télé-Québec, Ahuntsic Cégep, the Théatre du Nouveau Monde, the Carbone 14’s Usine ”C” and the place Gérard-Godin in front of the Mont-Royal metro station in Montreal. The artist participated in over a hundred solo or collective exhibits in France, Great Britain, the United States, Germany, Australia and of course in Quebec and Canada. In 2010, he showcased his work at the Espace Shawinigan, an exhibit which regrouped four very large installations.
Richard Purdy does as much performance art, paintings, installation as sculpture and works with researchers in other disciplines. Interdisciplinary work is important to him because it presents a subject in many different points of view. This artist loves to surprise his public and plays on ambiguity and illusions. Purdy also subverts systems that melt reality because, as he put it, ”my goal is not to create the new, but to discover what has been forgotten.” He also explored on many occasions the theme of stupa, particularly in the performing arts and dance. He believes that one must experience an object in order to understand its fundamental meaning.

Read more
Details
Category
relief mural
Owner
Gestionnaire
Materials
aluminum, metal
Overall size
2 panels : 365 x 884 cm et 365 x 600 cm, In frame : 472 x 1789 cm
Technique(s)
cut out, oxidization, screwed assembly
External link
Location
Location
Location
Collège Ahuntsic
Localization
In the inner courtyard
Adress
9055 rue Saint-Hubert Montréal, Québec H2M 1Y8
Accessibility
Collège Ahuntsic opening hours

Artwork description

This work, created under the Quebec government’s art and architecture integration program, consists of two mural reliefs that were originally installed facing one another, entirely covering the upper walls of the college’s main entrance and echoing its architectural structure. Dismantled in 2012 and then again in 2015 during renovations to the entrance hall of the Saint-Ignace Pavilion (Building C), the murals have been on display since spring 2019 in a new version approved by the artist.

The two panels, installed in the college’s inner courtyard and exposed to the air, have been mounted in a white aluminum frame and placed side by side on the wall that runs beside Pavilion B. In creating Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy… Richard Purdy drew initial inspiration from what in 1994 was still a characteristic feature of the neighbourhood’s architecture: the oxidized metal seen everywhere, most evidently in the backyard sheds that began gradually disappearing during the 2000s, as fire prevention regulations became more stringent. With the aim of creating a tangible geographical connection to the surroundings, the artist oxidized the aluminium to age it, using acids and pigments to enhance the effect, and denting and scratching the metal surface.

 

Across this uneven surface are scattered different-sized letters and numbers. Given the setting, viewers spontaneously associate these elements with a school environment, where students learn to read and count. But the letters and numbers of Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy… play a different role: the artist has not arranged them in a way that allows them to be read or interpreted as elements in a calculation, and the irregularity of the surface would in any case hamper such an attempt. Devoid of literal meaning, they should be seen rather as graphic symbols to be observed and rediscovered in an educational establishment whose history is closely linked to a school of graphic design. The letters and numbers thus morph back into the signs from which human knowledge is formed and which make creation possible.

The relief’s title also evokes a possible but not necessarily predictable future, for there is a letter missing from Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy… The artist has left the end of the title open, making it a metaphor for student life, when young adults work towards something whose outcome is uncertain.

Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtrer par catégorie
Choisir une catégorie
Filtrer par date
Montrer seulement
Mes favoris
Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtres
i
{"title":"Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy\u2026 | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-67981 apm lang-fr apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":67981,"slug":"abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy","title":"Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy\u2026","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy\/","year":"1994.2018","loc":{"lat":45.55166220000000265599737758748233318328857421875,"long":-73.642462800000004108369466848671436309814453125},"artist_names":"<span>Richard<\/span> <strong>Purdy<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2019\/12\/Purdy2-cour-interieure_72-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy…
1994.2018
Richard Purdy

Richard Purdy a fait des études au Nova Scotia College of Art and Design de Halifax, puis une maîtrise en arts à Villa Schifanoia Badia Fiesolana de Florence, en Italie et a obtenu un doctorat en études et pratiques des arts à l’UQAM en 2000. Il enseigne également l’histoire de l’art et les arts visuels au Département des arts de l’UQTR tout en menant des projets de recherche. Il a une vingtaine de publications à son actif.
En 1991, Richard Purdy fonde Les Industries Perdues. Le collectif réalise 19 projets en art public, dont des œuvres pour l’Organisation des Nations Unies, la Ville de Québec, la STCUM, le Cirque du Soleil, Télé-Québec, le Cégep Ahunsic, le Théatre du Nouveau Monde, l’Usine « C » de Carbone 14, l’UQAM et la place Gérald-Godin, devant le métro Mont-Royal à Montréal. L’artiste a participé à plus d’une centaine d’expositions, solos et collectives, présentées en France, en Grande-Bretagne, aux États-Unis, en Allemagne, en Australie et, bien sûr, au Québec et au Canada. En 2010, il présente à l’Espace Shawinigan L’écho-l’eau, une exposition regroupant quatre installations de très grandes dimensions.
Richard Purdy utilise autant la performance, la peinture, l’installation que la sculpture et travaille avec des chercheurs d’autres disciplines. Pour lui, l’interdisciplinarité subvertit les disciplines en présentant différents points de vue sur le même sujet. Cet artiste aime surprendre et jouer sur l’ambiguïté, les illusions. Purdy subvertit aussi les systèmes qui fondent la réalité car, dit-il, « mon but n’est pas de créer du nouveau mais de découvrir ce qui a été oublié ». Il a également exploré à plusieurs reprises le thème de la stupa, particulièrement par la performance et la danse. Selon lui, le sens fondamental de l’objet s’appréhende par l’expérience.

Lire la suite
Détails
Catégorie
relief mural
Propriétaire
Collège Ahuntsic
Mode d'acquisition
Politique d'intégration des arts à l'architecture et à l'environnement du Gouvernement du Québec
Matériaux
aluminium, métal
Dimensions générales
2 panneaux : 365 x 884 cm et 365 x 600 cm, Réunis dans un cadre de 472 x 1789 cm
Technique(s)
découpé, oxydé, vissé
Lien externe
Emplacement
Emplacement
Arrondissement ou ville liée
Ahuntsic-Cartierville
Emplacement
Collège Ahuntsic
Localisation
Dans la cour intérieure
Adresse
9055 rue Saint-Hubert Montréal, Québec H2M 1Y8
Accessibilité
Heures d’ouverture du Collège Ahuntsic

Description de l'oeuvre

Conçus dans le cadre de la Politique d’intégration des arts à l’architecture et à l’environnement, les deux reliefs muraux se faisaient face dans l’installation initiale et recouvraient intégralement la hauteur des murs de l’entrée principale du Collège, en épousant ses caractéristiques architecturales. Décrochés successivement en 2012 puis en 2015, lors des réaménagements du hall du pavillon Saint-Ignace (bâtiment C), ils sont présentés depuis le printemps 2019 dans une nouvelle version, avec l’approbation de l’artiste.

Exposés en plein air dans la cour intérieure du Collège, les deux panneaux, vissés dans une structure en aluminium blanc qui les encadre, sont placés côte à côte sur le mur qui longe le pavillon B. Pour Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy…, Richard Purdy puise d’abord son inspiration dans un élément typique de l’architecture du quartier en 1994 : l’omniprésence de métaux oxydés, notamment celui des hangars d’arrière-cour, qui ont progressivement quitté le paysage architectural dans les années 2000 en raison des normes de sécurité contre les incendies. Afin de créer un lien géographique tangible avec le quartier, l’artiste a oxydé l’aluminium qui présente ainsi des traces de vieillissement prématuré. Il l’a travaillé avec des acides et des pigments en plus de lui donner du relief en le cabossant et en l’éraflant.

Sur la surface inégale sont éparpillés des lettres de l’alphabet et des chiffres de différentes tailles. Étant donné le lieu d’exposition, le spectateur associe spontanément ces symboles à un environnement scolaire, où l’élève apprend à lire et à compter. Mais dans Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy…, les lettres et les chiffres assument une autre fonction. Puisque l’artiste ne les a pas alignés, ils ne peuvent être lus comme des mots ou des unités de calcul, d’autant plus que les reliefs de la tôle gênent une telle lecture. Détachés de tout sens, ils apparaissent davantage comme des symboles graphiques à regarder et à redécouvrir, dans une institution d’enseignement dont l’histoire est associée à l’École des arts graphiques. Les lettres et les chiffres redeviennent des signes à partir desquels la connaissance humaine se forme et la création devient possible.

Le titre même du relief mural participe à cet avenir possible, pas forcément prévisible. Il manque en effet une lettre à Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy… L’artiste laisse la fin ouverte, il y voit la métaphore de la vie étudiante, où le jeune adulte construit quelque chose qui peut arriver ou pas.