Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filter by category
Choose a category
Filter by date
Only show
My favorites
Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filters
i
{"title":"In Blankets, Herds and Ghosts | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/in-blankets-herds-and-ghosts\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-71325 apm lang-en apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/in-blankets-herds-and-ghosts\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":71325,"slug":"in-blankets-herds-and-ghosts","title":"In Blankets, Herds and Ghosts","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/in-blankets-herds-and-ghosts\/","year":"2021","loc":{"lat":45.51819199999999909778125584125518798828125,"long":-73.5697190000000063037077779881656169891357421875},"artist_names":"<span>Lara<\/span> <strong>Kramer <\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2021\/11\/4-lara-kramer-cherrier_web-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
In Blankets, Herds and Ghosts
2021
Lara Kramer

Lara Kramer is a performer, choreographer and multidisciplinary artist of mixed Oji-cree and settler heritage, raised in London, Ontario. She lives and works in Tiohtià:ke/Mooniyang/Montreal. Her choreographic work, research and field work over the last twelve years has been grounded in intergenerational relations, intergenerational knowledge and the impacts of the Indian Residential Schools of Canada. Her creations in the form of dance, performance and installation have been presented across Canada and Australia, New Zealand, Martinique, the US and the UK.

Lara Kramer was appointed a Human Rights Advocate through the Holocaust Memorial Centre of Montreal (2012) following the national tour of her work Fragments, a performance piece inspired by her mother’s stories and lived experience as a survivor of the Indian Residential Schools of Canada. She has received multiple awards, acknowledgements and prizes for her work both as an emerging and established artist. Lara Kramer has participated in several residencies including the Indian Residential School Museum of Canada in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, and is Dancemakers Resident Artist from 2018-2021.

Read more
Artworks
from the same artist
Details
Category
Photography
Owner(s)
Dazibao
Acquisition mode
Competition by invitation
Materials
Photographs printed on canvas
Overall size
305 x 381 cm
Technique(s)
digital print
Support
Backlit canvas
Artworks
from the same artist
Location
Location
Location
Café Cherrier 's facade
Adress
3635, rue Saint-Denis, Montréal, QC H2X 3L6
Accessibility
At all time

Artwork description

The present edition of Dazibao satellite is the result of a special partnership between Dazibao and the MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels). In Blankets, Herds and Ghosts is a new work by multidisciplinary artist and choreographer Lara Kramer.
Two public billboards, located at Café Cherrier and Marché Bonsecours, feature images of Kramer cloaked in a Trade Blanket designed and fabricated collaboratively with her mother and artist, Ida Baptiste. The images were created in collaboration with photographer Stefan Petersen and are accompanied by a podcast including conversations between Lara Kramer, Ida Baptiste, as well as Anishinaabe Elder Emerson Nanigishki’ing. The project also comprises a selection of texts, including a prayer and a historical text contextualizing the Trade Blanket and Jingle Dress.

“This is a practice of labour, of love, and mobility. A practice that works with our soft hands, hard hands, our ancestor hands. A practice for sharing, in the way that kinship positions us in relation to past, present and future voices, territories, one another and other, memories, traditions, stories, materials, sound and spirit. The practice is durational but offers an experience of non-time. It proposes a pacing and invitation for embodiment, a connection to prayer, healing, creation, memory and reflection on past, present and future. A practice of deepening the intergenerational knowledge that comes from my mother, my children, family and kin, all in dialogue with one another. (…)” — Lara Kramer

https://babiato.co/ts/ http://gadget.kaigai-tuhan.com/ https://bandar-togel.inmujerguadalupe.gob.mx/ https://www.gekonntgekocht.de/.tmb/ https://magicalflower.ru/catalog/view/css/daftar-togel-bet-100-perak-terpercaya-hadiah-4d-10-juta.html https://www.etoretro.ru/font/ https://g-outlet.com/assets/ https://zsmc-fmba.ru/agen-togel/ https://igru6ek.su/sites1/sites/ Slot Online Togel Online

Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtrer par catégorie
Choisir une catégorie
Filtrer par date
Montrer seulement
Mes favoris
Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtres
i
{"title":"In Blankets, Herds and Ghosts | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/in-blankets-herds-and-ghosts\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-71309 apm lang-fr apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/in-blankets-herds-and-ghosts\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":71309,"slug":"in-blankets-herds-and-ghosts","title":"In Blankets, Herds and Ghosts","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/in-blankets-herds-and-ghosts\/","year":"2021","loc":{"lat":45.51819199999999909778125584125518798828125,"long":-73.5697190000000063037077779881656169891357421875},"artist_names":"<span>Lara<\/span> <strong>Kramer <\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2021\/11\/1-lara-kramer-cherrier_web-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
In Blankets, Herds and Ghosts
2021
Lara Kramer

Lara Kramer est une performeuse, chorégraphe et artiste multidisciplinaire d’origine mixte oji-cree et coloniale, qui a grandi à London, Ontario. Elle vit et travaille à Tiohtià:ke/Mooniyang/Montréal. Au cours des douze dernières années, son travail chorégraphique, ses recherches et son travail sur le terrain ont été fondés sur les relations intergénérationnelles, le savoir intergénérationnel et les impacts des pensionnats indiens au Canada. Ses créations sous forme de danse, de performance et d’installation ont été présentées partout au Canada, en Australie, en Nouvelle-Zélande, en Martinique, aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni.

Lara Kramer a été nommée Protectrice des droits de la personne par le Centre commémoratif de l’Holocauste à Montréal (2012) à la suite de la tournée nationale de son œuvre Fragments, une performance inspirée des histoires de sa mère et de son expérience en tant que survivante des pensionnats indiens au Canada. Elle a reçu de nombreux prix, reconnaissances et récompenses pour son travail en tant qu’artiste émergente et établie. Lara Kramer a participé à plusieurs résidences, notamment au Indian Residential School Museum of Canada à Portage la Prairie au Manitoba et est artiste en résidence à Dancemakers (2018 à 2021).

Lire la suite
Oeuvres
du même artiste
Détails
Catégorie
Photographie
Propriétaire
Dazibao
Mode d'acquisition
Concours sur invitation
Matériaux
Photographies imprimées sur toiles
Dimensions générales
305 x 381 cm
Technique(s)
impression numérique
Support
Toile rétroéclairée
Oeuvres
du même artiste
Emplacement
Emplacement
Arrondissement ou ville liée
Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Emplacement
Façade du Café Cherrier
Adresse
3635, rue Saint-Denis, Montréal, QC H2X 3L6
Accessibilité
En tout temps

Description de l'oeuvre

La présente édition de Dazibao satellite résulte d’un partenariat spécial avec le MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels). In Blankets, Herds and Ghosts est une nouvelle œuvre de l’artiste multidisciplinaire et chorégraphe Lara Kramer.
Deux billboards, situés au Café Cherrier et au Marché Bonsecours, présentent des images de Lara Kramer enveloppée dans une Couverture de traite conçue et fabriquée en collaboration avec sa mère et artiste, Ida Baptiste. Les images ont été créées en collaboration avec le photographe Stefan Petersen. Les billboards sont accompagnés d’un podcast réunissant des conversations entre Lara Kramer, Ida Baptiste, ainsi que l’ainé anishinaabe Emerson Nanigishki’ing. À ces entretiens, s’ajoutent un texte de prière et un texte relatant l’histoire de la Couverture de traite et de la Robe à clochettes.

« Il s’agit d’une pratique faite de labeur, d’amour et de mobilité. Une pratique qui travaille avec nos mains douces, nos mains dures, nos mains d’ancêtres. Une pratique de partage, dans la mesure où la filiation nous place en relation avec les voix passées, présentes et futures, les territoires, les uns et les autres, les souvenirs, les traditions, les histoires, les matériaux, les sons et les esprits. Cette pratique s’inscrit dans la durée mais offre une expérience de non-temps. Elle propose un rythme et une invitation à l’incarnation, un rapport à la prière, à la guérison, à la création, à la mémoire et à la réflexion sur le passé, le présent et l’avenir. Une pratique pour approfondir la connaissance intergénérationnelle qui vient de ma mère, de mes enfants, de ma famille et de mes proches, tous en dialogue les uns avec les autres. (…) » — Lara Kramer