Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filter by category
Choose a category
Filter by date
Only show
My favorites
Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filters
i
{"title":"QANUQTUURNIQ | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/qanuqtuurniq\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-62323 apm lang-en apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/qanuqtuurniq\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":62323,"slug":"qanuqtuurniq","title":"QANUQTUURNIQ","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/qanuqtuurniq\/","year":"2016","loc":{"lat":"45.53115507890481","long":"-73.55413155826648"},"artist_names":"<strong>Embassy of Imagination<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2017\/02\/bousquet-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
QANUQTUURNIQ
2016
Embassy of Imagination

Embassy of Imagination (EOI) is a multidisciplinary arts initiative for youth based in Cape Dorset, Nunavut. Their workshops introduce youth to a global perspective of art practices and a variety of art mediums, specializing in printmaking and mural painting. EOI leads youth to achieve self-empowerment through creating, fun, and professionally-realized satellite projects across Canada.

EOI is lead by visual artists Alexa Hatanaka and Patrick Thompson. Hatanaka and Thompson have a rich background in socially-engaged art projects and youth mentorship. Hatanaka and Thompson have worked on several visual art projects in the arctic for nearly ten years. They have created well-loved murals in the hamlets of Igloolik, Cape Dorset, Iqaluit, and Hall Beach, as well as in the Northern Quebec towns of Kangiqsujuaq, Kuujjuaq and Inukjuak. They have facilitated youth projects at York University, the Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health, and the National Gallery.

Read more
Details
Alternative title
Innovative and resourceful
Category
Mural
Producer
MU
Funding
Canada Council for the Arts, Office municipal d'habitation de Montréal
Source mention
In collaboration with other financial partners
Technique(s)
painted
Mediums
acrylic latex
External link
Location
Location
Location
Habitations Coupal
Adress
2360, rue Ontario Est Montréal, QC H2K 1W1
Tours
Tour
Tour
Murals of Ontario Street
  • 10 Artworks
  • 45min
  • Bain Mathieu
  • Ontario Street

Start

Artwork description

As part of the 2015 Pan American Games in downtown Toronto, four young people from Cape Dorset in Nunavut and two young artists from Toronto, Alexa Hatanaka and Patrick Thompson (Embassy of Imagination), collaborated on a mural that was immensely successful.

Inspired by this project, MU invited these artists to create a mural in Montreal in 2016. The team consisted of five young Inuit: Johnny Samayualie, Parr Josephee, Saaki Nuna, Tommy Quvianaqtuliaq and Salomonie Ashoona, who came to Montreal especially for the project, along with the two artists from Toronto. The mural, “Qanuqtuurniq ‘Innovative and Resourceful’”, aims to create exchanges between Canadian cities and indigenous communities and to create the most impact possible for the young artists. The mural is located in the Habitations Coupal in the Centre-Sud. The residents of the Habitations were consulted to select one of the three designs proposed by the artists.

The imagination and the drawings that comprise the mural belong to the young Nunavummiuts, all between 13 and 17 years of age. The artists, Alexa Hatanaka and Patrick Thompson are responsible for the final composition of the mural and the arrangement of the drawings that gives it a sense of unity and a narrative meaning. The aesthetic, the inspiration and the meaning of the work reflect the culture, interests, concerns and the lived experiences of the five young Nunavummiuts, and of today’s youth.

The artists were assisted by Aidan Price-Bottenberg and Seayenna Lee during the execution of the project.

This project was made possible by generous donations from Paul Desmarais III, Eric Boyko, Simon Dupéré, Stéphanie Larivière, Fabrice Morin, Thomas Cockburn, Daniel Forest, Julie Godin, Sacha Haque, François Lafortune & Anna Chif and Grégoire Baillargeon.

Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtrer par catégorie
Choisir une catégorie
Filtrer par date
Montrer seulement
Mes favoris
Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtres
i
{"title":"QANUQTUURNIQ | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/qanuqtuurniq\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-62319 apm lang-fr apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/qanuqtuurniq\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":62319,"slug":"qanuqtuurniq","title":"QANUQTUURNIQ","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/qanuqtuurniq\/","year":"2016","loc":{"lat":"45.5311485025983","long":"-73.55411278280337"},"artist_names":"<strong>Embassy of Imagination<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2017\/02\/bousquet-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
QANUQTUURNIQ
2016
Embassy of Imagination

Embassy of Imagination (EOI) est une initiative d’art multidisciplinaire pour les jeunes basée à Cape Dorset, au Nunavut. Leurs ateliers ont pour objectif d’initier les jeunes à une perspective globale des divers médiums et pratiques artistiques, tout en se spécialisant en gravure ainsi qu’en art mural. EOI encourage les jeunes à prendre confiance en eux par la réalisation de projets créatifs, amusants et professionnels partout à travers le Canada.

EOI est dirigé par les artistes visuels Alexa Hatanaka et Patrick Thompson. Hatanaka et Thompson possèdent tous deux un parcours riche en expériences d’art socialement engagé et en mentorat auprès des jeunes. En dix ans, ils ont travaillé ensemble sur de nombreux projets au sein de l’Arctique. Ils ont créé des murales reconnues de tous à Igloolik, Cape Dorset, Iqaluit et Hall Beach, tout comme dans des villes du Nord québécois telles que Kangiqsujuaq, Kuujjuaq et Inukjuak. Ils ont également participé à des projets jeunesse à l’Université York, au Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health et à la National Gallery.

Lire la suite
Détails
Variation de titre
Ingénieux et innovant
Catégorie
Murale
Producteur
MU
Financement
Conseil des arts du Canada, Office municipal d'habitation de Montréal
Mention de la source
En collaboration avec d'autres partenaires financiers
Technique(s)
peint
Médiums
latex acrylique
Lien externe
Emplacement
Emplacement
Arrondissement ou ville liée
Ville-Marie
Emplacement
Habitations Coupal
Adresse
2360, rue Ontario Est Montréal, QC H2K 1W1
Parcours
Parcours
Parcours
Murales de la rue Ontario
  • 10 Oeuvres
  • 45min
  • Bain Mathieu
  • Rue Ontario Est

Commencer

Description de l'oeuvre

Dans le cadre des Jeux panaméricains de 2015, une murale collaborative réunissant quatre jeunes de Cape Dorset au Nunavut et deux jeunes artistes de Toronto, Alexa Hatanaka et Patrick Thompson (Embassy of Imagination), a été réalisée et a connu un immense succès.

Inspirée par ce projet, MU a invité ces artistes à se produire à Montréal en 2016. C’est donc une équipe formée des jeunes Inuits Johnny Samayualie, Parr Josephee, Saaki Nuna, Tommy Quvianaqtuliaq et Salomonie Ashoona, en plus des deux artistes torontois, qui est venue à Montréal pour la réalisation de ce projet bien spécial. La murale Qanuqtuurniq «Ingénieux et innovant» vise à créer des échanges entre les villes canadiennes et les communautés et à recueillir le plus d’impact possible pour nos jeunes artistes. Elle est située aux Habitations Coupal dans le quartier Centre-Sud. Les résidents des Habitations ont d’ailleurs été consultés dans le but de choisir une maquette parmi les trois proposées par les artistes.

L’imaginaire et les dessins qui composent la murale sont ceux des jeunes Nunavummiuts, tous âgés entre 13 et 17 ans. Les artistes Alexa Hatanaka et Patrick Thompson sont, quant à eux, responsables de la composition finale et de l’agencement des différents dessins afin de donner unité et sens narratif à la murale. L’esthétique, l’inspiration et le sens même de l’oeuvre reflètent la culture, les intérêts, les préoccupations ou le vécu des cinq jeunes Nunavummiuts, et de la jeune génération actuelle.

Les artistes ont été assistés par Aidan Price-Bottenberg et Seayenna Lee tout au long du projet.

Le projet a pu être réalisé entre autres grâce aux généreuxdons de Paul Desmarais III, Eric Boyko, Simon Dupéré, Stéphanie Larivière, Fabrice Morin, Thomas Cockburn, Daniel Forest, Julie Godin, Sacha Haque, François Lafortune & Anna Chif et Grégoire Baillargeon.