Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filter by category
Choose a category
Filter by date
Only show
My favorites
Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filters
i
{"title":"Monument \u00e0 sir John A. Macdonald | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-50444 apm lang-en apm-imported-item apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":50444,"slug":"monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald","title":"Monument \u00e0 sir John A. Macdonald","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/","year":"1895","loc":{"lat":"45.498786","long":"-73.569638"},"artist_names":"<span>George Edward<\/span> <strong>Wade<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/imported\/1966_5085-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Monument à sir John A. Macdonald
1895
George Edward Wade
1853 - 1933

Born in London in 1853, George Edward Wade began his professional career in the 1890s, when he began to have his works exhibited at the Royal Academy of Arts in London. His production consisted mainly of bust portraits, executed for commissions emanating from the British colonies. His services were retained by the city of Hamilton, Ontario, to create a statue of Macdonald in 1893. Although the statue was imposing in stature, no supplementary structure framed it. Wade died in London in 1933.

Read more
Details
Category
Sculpture
Acquisition mode
Donation by public subscription
Materials
bronze, granite
Overall size
1800 x 486 x 432 cm
External link
Location
Location
Location
Place du Canada
Tours
Tour
Tour
Walk among the skyscrapers
  • 19 Artworks
  • 1h
  • 1000 de la Gauchetière
  • McCord Museum

Start

Artwork description

In 1895, the site chosen for installation of the monument to Sir John Alexander Macdonald was the south part of Dominion Square, positioning it as the focal point of a long perspective view. In 1967, this part of the square was renamed Place du Canada, which was a perfect fit with the presence of the monument, Macdonald having been one of the Fathers of Confederation and Canada’s first prime minister.

Sheltered under an immense canopy, the statue of Macdonald, twice life size, is planted firmly. He is portrayed in his official function as State dignitary of the Parliament of Canada, dressed in the costume of a Privy Imperial Councillor. Following the sculptural convention of the time, he holds a document in his hand, as did all prominent politicians in their statues. The canopy sits on an elevated pedestal, and its coffered vault is supported by 12 columns with Corinthian capitals, arranged in threes at each corner. On top of the vault, a fluted column, tapered at the top, supports an allegorical figure, draped in Greek style and arranged as a crown, like a cathedral spire. The figure symbolizes Canada, and the seven boys with linked arms that hold each of the shields at the foot of the column represent the seven provinces. The grouping composed of the column, “Canada,” and the “seven provinces” sits on four elongated lions at each corner of the monument.

With its allegorical figures and decorative elements, the monument underlines the major events of Macdonald’s government, which contributed to the expansion of Canada. Among the monuments erected to the memory of Macdonald, the one in Montréal is the most imposing and elaborate.

https://babiato.co/ts/ http://gadget.kaigai-tuhan.com/ https://bandar-togel.inmujerguadalupe.gob.mx/ https://www.gekonntgekocht.de/.tmb/ https://magicalflower.ru/catalog/view/css/daftar-togel-bet-100-perak-terpercaya-hadiah-4d-10-juta.html https://www.etoretro.ru/font/ https://g-outlet.com/assets/ https://zsmc-fmba.ru/agen-togel/ https://igru6ek.su/sites1/sites/ Slot Online Togel Online

Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtrer par catégorie
Choisir une catégorie
Filtrer par date
Montrer seulement
Mes favoris
Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtres
i
{"title":"Monument \u00e0 sir John A. Macdonald | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-50443 apm lang-fr apm-imported-item apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":50443,"slug":"monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald","title":"Monument \u00e0 sir John A. Macdonald","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/","year":"1895","loc":{"lat":"45.498786","long":"-73.569638"},"artist_names":"<span>George Edward<\/span> <strong>Wade<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/imported\/1966_5085-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Monument à sir John A. Macdonald
1895
George Edward Wade
1853 - 1933

Né à Londres en 1853, George Edward Wade amorce ses activités professionnelles autour des années 1890, alors qu’il commence à exposer à l’Académie royale de Londres. Sa production consiste surtout en des portraits en buste, dans le contexte de commandes provenant pour la plupart des colonies britanniques. Ses services ont notamment été retenus par la ville de Hamilton, en Ontario, pour réaliser une statue à l’effigie de Macdonald en 1893. Bien que le format de la statue soit imposant, aucune structure supplémentaire ne vient l’encadrer. Wade meurt à Londres, en 1933.

Lire la suite
Détails
Catégorie
Sculpture
Propriétaire
Ville de Montréal
Mode d'acquisition
Don par souscription publique
Matériaux
bronze, granit
Dimensions générales
1800 x 486 x 432 cm
Lien externe
Emplacement
Emplacement
Arrondissement ou ville liée
Ville-Marie
Emplacement
Place du Canada
Parcours
Parcours
Parcours
Promenade parmi les gratte-ciel
  • 20 Oeuvres
  • 1h
  • 1000 de la Gauchetière
  • Musée McCord

Commencer

Description de l'oeuvre

En 1895, l’emplacement retenu pour l’installation du Monument à sir John Alexander Macdonald est la partie sud du square Dominion, le positionnant au point focal d’une longue perspective. En 1967, cette partie du square est renommée place du Canada, ce qui cadre parfaitement avec la présence du monument, Macdonald ayant été l’un des « Pères » de la Confédération (Dominion du Canada) et son premier ministre.

Abritée sous un immense baldaquin, la statue de Macdonald est campée de plain-pied, deux fois plus grand que nature. Il est représenté dans ses fonctions officielles de haut dignitaire du Parlement canadien, vêtu de son costume de conseiller impérial privé. Conformément à la convention sculpturale d’alors, il tient à la main un document, comme tous les personnages politiques. Le baldaquin repose sur un socle élevé, et sa voûte à caissons est soutenue par un ensemble de 12 colonnes à chapiteaux corinthiens, groupées par trois, à chacune des extrémités. Au sommet de la voûte, une colonne cannelée, effilée vers le haut, est surmontée d’une figure allégorique, drapée à la grecque et disposée en couronnement, comme une flèche de cathédrale. Elle symbolise le Canada, tandis que les sept garçons aux bras entrelacés qui retiennent chacun des boucliers au pied de la colonne représentent les sept provinces. L’ensemble composé de la colonne, du « Canada » et des « sept provinces » repose sur quatre lions allongés à chaque coin du monument.

Par ses figures allégoriques, tout comme ses éléments décoratifs, le monument souligne les faits majeurs du gouvernement de Macdonald qui ont contribué à l’expansion du Canada. Parmi les monuments érigés à la mémoire de Macdonald, celui de Montréal demeure le plus imposant et le plus élaboré.