Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filter by category
Choose a category
Filter by date
Only show
My favorites
Filters
i
Filter by location
Greater Montréal
Greater Montréal
Filters
i
{"title":"Three Disks | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/trois-disques\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-49451 apm lang-en apm-imported-item apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/trois-disques\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":49451,"slug":"trois-disques","title":"Three Disks","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/trois-disques\/","year":"1967","loc":{"lat":"45.510658","long":"-73.536837"},"artist_names":"<span>Alexander<\/span> <strong>Calder<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/09\/CALDER_Guy-LHeureux-2012-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Three Disks
1967
Alexander Calder
1898 - 1976

Alexander Calder, born in 1898 in Lawnton, Pennsylvania, came from a family of artists: his father, Alexander Stirling Calder, and his grandfather, Alexander Milne Calder, were sculptors, and his mother, Nanette Lederer Calder, was a painter. He trained as an artist (Art Students League of New York, 1923–25) and engineer (Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, New Jersey, 1915–19). Considered one of the foremost sculptors of the twentieth century, a “merry engineer, troublesome architect, and sculptor of the times,” according to Jacques Prévert, Calder left his mark in the public space with his “mobiles” and “stabiles.” The latter word, invented by Jean Arp, defines Calder’s monumental artworks composed of simple shapes anchored to the ground, which are found, among other places, in Berlin, Chicago, Jerusalem, Paris, Mexico City, and Seattle. Alexander Calder died in New York in 1976.

Read more
Details
Alternative title
Man, Three Disks; L'Homme; Man; The Man
Category
Sculpture
Acquisition mode
Donation
Materials
stainless steel
Overall size
2130 x 2200 x 1625 cm
Technique(s)
assembled, bolted, cut out, welded
External link
Location
Location
Location
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Sainte-Hélène

Artwork description

Alexander Calder’s sculpture Trois disques is composed of five arches made of unpolished stainless steel. The overlapping arches stand on six slender posts whose tops are adorned with two points and three disks. With its abstract form, the arachnoid structure – asymmetrical but balanced – creates plays of shadow and light that evoke dance movements.

The sculpture symbolizes human progress and power. Its site – it was moved in 1991 to the belvedere in Parc Jean-Drapeau on Île Sainte-Hélène build to receive it, 300 metres from its original site – allows the public to circulate around the work and view it from different angles, from near and far. Over the years, it has become an important landmark in the Montréal landscape.

Although a number of cities have purchased a Calder stabile, the one in Montréal is unique. At a height of 22 metres, it is the second-largest stabile (after the one in Mexico City, which is 24 metres in height). At the request of the International Nickel Company of Canada, it is not painted, which also makes it the only example of an unpainted stabile. Therefore, Trois disques shows off the raw material, the elements of assembly, and the traces of its fabrication in a frankly industrial aesthetic. In short, human labour and genius are illustrated in Calder’s imposing sculpture.

https://babiato.co/ts/ http://gadget.kaigai-tuhan.com/ https://bandar-togel.inmujerguadalupe.gob.mx/ https://www.gekonntgekocht.de/.tmb/ https://magicalflower.ru/catalog/view/css/daftar-togel-bet-100-perak-terpercaya-hadiah-4d-10-juta.html https://www.etoretro.ru/font/ https://g-outlet.com/assets/ https://zsmc-fmba.ru/agen-togel/ https://igru6ek.su/sites1/sites/ Slot Online Togel Online

Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtrer par catégorie
Choisir une catégorie
Filtrer par date
Montrer seulement
Mes favoris
Filtres
i
Filtrer par lieu
Grand Montréal
Grand Montréal
Filtres
i
{"title":"Trois disques | Art Public Montr\u00e9al","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/trois-disques\/","body_class":"apm_artwork-template-default single single-apm_artwork postid-49450 apm lang-fr apm-imported-item apm-full-js nav-env-filters","query_hud":null,"active_filter":null,"alternate_language_url":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/trois-disques\/","clear_filter_collection":0,"clear_filter_tour":"clear","data_attributes":{"data-view-type":"apm_artwork"},"filter_root_url":"\/collection\/","artworkNav":false,"mapMarkers":[{"id":49450,"slug":"trois-disques","title":"Trois disques","permalink":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/oeuvre\/trois-disques\/","year":"1967","loc":{"lat":"45.510658","long":"-73.536837"},"artist_names":"<span>Alexander<\/span> <strong>Calder<\/strong>","thumb":"https:\/\/artpublicmontreal.ca\/wp-content\/uploads\/2015\/09\/CALDER_Guy-LHeureux-2012-150x150.jpg","infoBox":false,"cat_color":"#e50f09","env":"outdoor","singleArtwork":true}]}
Trois disques
1967
Alexander Calder
1898 - 1976

Né en 1898 à Lawnton en Pennsylvanie, Alexander Calder est issu d’une famille d’artistes : son père, Alexander Stirling Calder, et son grand-père, Alexander Milne Calder, étaient sculpteurs, tandis que sa mère, Nanette Lederer Calder, était peintre. Il possède une formation d’artiste (Art Students League of New York, 1923-1925) et d’ingénieur (Steven’s Institute of Technology, Hoboken, New Jersey, 1915-1919). Considéré comme l’un des sculpteurs les plus marquants du XXe siècle, « ingénieur hilare, architecte inquiétant et sculpteur du temps », selon Jacques Prévert, l’artiste américain a laissé sa marque dans l’espace public notamment grâce à ses « mobiles » et ses « stabiles ». Ce dernier mot, inventé par Jean Arp, désigne ses œuvres monumentales composées de formes simples fixées au sol. On les retrouve, entre autres, à Berlin, Chicago, Jérusalem, Paris, Mexico et Seattle. Alexander Calder meurt à New York en 1976.

Lire la suite
Détails
Variation de titre
Man, Three Disks; L'Homme; Man; The Man
Catégorie
Sculpture
Propriétaire
Ville de Montréal
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Matériaux
acier inoxydable
Dimensions générales
2130 x 2200 x 1625 cm
Technique(s)
assemblé, boulonné, découpé, soudé
Lien externe
Emplacement
Emplacement
Arrondissement ou ville liée
Ville-Marie
Emplacement
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Sainte-Hélène

Description de l'oeuvre

L’œuvre Trois disques d’Alexander Calder est une sculpture en acier inoxydable non poli composée de cinq arches qui se chevauchent et s’appuient sur six jambages effilés dont la cime est ornée de deux pointes et de trois disques. Par sa forme abstraite, la structure arachnéenne, asymétrique, mais équilibrée, crée des jeux d’ombres et de lumières qui évoquent des mouvements dansés.

La sculpture symbolise le progrès et la puissance humaine. Son emplacement – l’œuvre a été déménagée en 1991 sur le belvédère de l’île Sainte-Hélène du parc Jean-Drapeau aménagé pour la recevoir, à 300 mètres de son emplacement initial – permet au public de circuler autour de l’œuvre et de l’admirer sous différents angles, de près ou de loin. Elle est devenue au fil des ans un repère visuel important dans le paysage montréalais.

Si plusieurs villes ont fait l’acquisition d’un « stabile », celui de Montréal possède une facture unique. D’une hauteur de 22 mètres, il est le deuxième stabile le plus imposant (après celui de Mexico qui fait 24 mètres). À la demande de l’International Nickel du Canada, il n’a pas été peint, ce qui en fait de surcroît le seul exemple de stabile non peint. Trois disques laisse voir de cette façon le matériau brut, les éléments d’assemblage et les traces de sa fabrication dans une esthétique franchement industrielle. En somme, c’est le travail de l’homme et son génie qu’illustre l’imposante sculpture de Calder.